Is Non-Alcoholic Beer Halal

Written By Ian

Last Updated :

In This Article...

Alcohol is considered haram and strictly forbidden for Muslims. So we ask the question, if a beer is 0% alcohol, is it still forbidden?

Non-alcoholic beers are fast becoming the flavor of the month, and offer some fantastic options for those who can’t drink alcohol.

However, non-alcoholic and zero beers conjure up quite a conundrum for practicing Muslims.

Alcohol is strictly forbidden in the Qur’an as it is considered an intoxicant, and intoxicants are considered haram.

So we ask the question, if a beer is 0% alcohol, is it still forbidden?

We’ve reached out and done the research to hopefully make things a little bit clearer about this misunderstood drink.

If you are a Muslim and hoping to try some exotic drinks, but you are unsure of whether those drinks are halal or haram, let’s answer the question and check out your options. 

Quick Answer

Non-alcoholic beer can be Halal, but only under certain circumstances. Whether non-alcoholic beers are considered halal or not depends on the ingredients and the manufacturing process used in their production. So on that note, let’s dive into the technicalities and the do’s and dont’s.

Is It Halal To Drink Non-Alcoholic Beer?

Technically no, it’s not Halal to drink non-alcoholic beer as a Muslim for a number of reasons. 

The biggest reason is is that the alcohol content of non-alcoholic beers is removed or reduced during the brewing process. So most non-alcoholic beers are brewed using alcohol, making it Halal.

However, the good news is there are Halal beer options!

Many changes are happening in the non-alcoholic beer brewing process, opening opportunities for Halal options. 

Although there is still a debate about whether or not “Halal beers” are actually ok. 

So we can hopefully clear that up, or at least give you the conditions to make up your own mind about them.

Let’s look a little deeper into how non-alcoholic beers are viewed by Muslims and Islam.

What Are The Conditions That Make Drinks Halal?

The rules surrounding drinks in Islam are straightforward. For a drink to be halal:

  • It cannot contain any alcohol, regardless of how small the quantity may be.
  • It cannot have any additive that is considered haram, such as extracts from animals or plants that are considered haram.
  • It cannot have any intoxicating, euphoric, or harmful substances.

Most western religions don’t have as many restrictions as Islam. So you will often find things like alcohol and pork fat in their products.

In non-muslim countries, it’s recommended for Muslims to avoid anything without a government official or international Halal symbol on the packaging and label.

Alcohol and Islam. Why Is it Haram?

Let’s look at why alcohol is considered Haram.

Islam has enforced strict rules about alcohol and intoxicating substance usage. To give you an overview,

  • At first, Muslims were told not to consume alcohol or perform prayers under the influence of alcohol as it makes them commit mistakes and renders them unable to perform prayers properly.
  • Alcohol makes you forget stuff and temporarily lose your sense of awareness. More importantly, people often forget the existence of the creator when they consume euphoric substances like alcohol and others. 
  • The Prophet Muhammed (PBUH) has prohibited his Ummah to refrain from consuming alcohol and deemed it Haram.
  • Intoxicating substances are considered to be works of Satan in Islam, and so they are classified as Haram.

Its thought when you consume anything haram like alcohol, there are severe consequences. 

For instance, your body will remain impure for 40 days after the consumption of alcohol. 

Moreover, all prayers you perform will probably not be accepted, and you will not get the rewards! But you still need to perform the prayers as they are made Fard for you.

Are Non-Alcoholic Beers and Drinks Halal?

The short answer is no; they are (for the most part) haram. Now you might be wondering why? It is non-alcoholic, and it does not have any harmful or intoxicating substances in it, then why is it still haram?

Even though they are labeled and sold as “non-alcoholic” beverages, in reality, they contain trace amounts of alcohol and are not 100% alcohol-free. 

The FDA allows beverages with trace amounts of alcohol to be classified as “non-alcoholic.” This means that even though they are labeled as “non-alcoholic,” that does not necessarily mean they are “alcohol-free.” 

According to the FDA, drinks containing up to 0.5% alcohol can be considered and labeled as non-alcoholic products. 

But that does not conform to Islamic law, and any drink containing even the slightest trace of alcohol is deemed haram, i.e., impermissible. 

Halal Certified Beers

The good news for Muslims looking to try non-alcoholic beers is that they are now options available that are Halal.

As the demand for halal-certified products continues to grow, many non-alcoholic breweries are taking steps to get their products certified.

In fact, Japanese Ninja Lager claims to be the world’s first Halal-certified non-alcoholic beer.

As brewing techniques evolve in the non-alcoholic industry, it is definitely possible to create more zero beers without even alcohol in the first place.

So definitely keep an eye-out for many more coming to the market.

What Do Islamic Scholars Say About Non-Alcoholic Beer?

Since many complex nuances within Islamic law may be hard to grasp for ordinary believers, consulting a scholar is a practice that has been going around for hundreds of years. 

An Islamic scholar is someone who is knowledgeable about the Quran and the Sunnah, and the details of Islamic law. Moreover, a trained scholar is more able to understand the differences between different schools of thought and give you the most balanced and accurate principle about a particular topic. 

However, scholars can have disagreements about certain issues requiring discretion, deliberation, and judgment. For instance, the issue we are discussing is one where you may find different opinions among scholars. 

So, you can either do your due diligence and choose the opinion of a scholar you consider knowledgeable and reliable, or you can go with the opinion of the majority of scholars. 

For instance, one of the most popular and reliable preachers of Islam and authority of the religion is Dr. Zakir Naik. You can learn about his opinions on the subject online and find out why he says that non-alcoholic beer is haram

Alternatives To Non-Alcoholic Beer For Muslims

There are still some fantastic alternatives out there for those who do not want to risk or spend time looking for non-alcoholic Halal options.

  • Barbican is probably the most popular alternative to non-alcoholic beers for Muslims is Barbican. Barbican is a malt beverage that is quite popular in the Middle East. It is made using malt ingredients and does not contain any barley or alcohol in the brewing process, making it completely Halal. And it tastes great!
  • Root beer is another halal alternative to beer for Muslims, which does not have any alcohol. 
  • Coffee soda infuses sparkling water with caffeine from cold brew concentrate, providing a flavorful drink option without any alcoholic content whatsoever.
  • Alcohol-free wines are also a great option, as many non-alcoholic wines are now made using special fermenting techniques so that their final product has all the flavor without any unintentional Bacchus influences!

Still, as a practicing Muslim, it is always best to refrain from drinking any sort of beer or non-alcoholic beverages. But if you ever want to try any “exotic” drink out, check the label and ingredient list first before drinking.

The Verdict: Is It Halal To Drink Non-Alcoholic Beer?

The debate over the halal status of non-alcoholic beer is a contentious one in the Muslim community.

In today’s world, due to modern manufacturing practices and laws, many haram substances get added to mass-produced and packaged foods. And quite often, it’s easy to overlook them.

The primary argument against consuming non-alcoholic beer lies in its potential to cause confusion and invite judgement of those who partake. 

Given the close resemblance between non-alcoholic beers and their alcoholic counterparts, some may misconstrue or misjudge individuals for imbibing a ‘beer’ product when they are actually adhering to Islamic laws forbidding them from partaking in alcoholic beverages.

Moreover, there exists ambiguity around exactly how much alcohol content can be considered haram (forbidden); as such many choose to err on the side of caution by avoiding it entirely.

Ultimately though, the decision resides with each individual believer guided by their own understanding of their teachings.

The final decision made should always be rooted firmly in faith rather than public opinion or false assumptions about what counts as halal according to Islam.

Faqs about non-alcoholic halal beer

Is Heineken Non-Alcoholic Beer Halal?

Heineken contains trace amounts of alcohol from between 0.01 to 0.03% ABV, so therefore, it is definitely not Halal.
Heineken 0.0% is also brewed using the vacuum distilled method, so as it contains alcohol at the beginning of the brewing process, this also makes it not Halal.

Is Carlsberg Non-Alcoholic Beer Halal?

In 2022, there had been a rumor that Carlsberg had been certified Halal. This rumor has since been debunked due to a fake image circulating across social media.
Carlsberg non-alcoholic beer is brewed using a method that is not Halal.
During the Carlsberg 0.0 brewing process, yeast is added to start the fermentation, then once brewed, the alcohol is removed. So, because of this brewing method, it is definitely not Halal.

Is Budweiser Zero Non-Alcoholic Beer Halal?

Budweiser zero is not Halal. Budweiser zero is brewed using the vacuum-distilled method, so it contains alcohol at the beginning of the brewing process. Because it contains alcohol that is then removed, this means it is not Halal.

Is Barbican Halal?

While Barbican is not Halal certified, it is recognized as a Halal drink. It is made mainly with malt extract, and does not contain barley or any alcohol in the brewing process, so this drink is actually Halal.

Is Bavaria Non-Alcoholic Beer Halal?

This one has been up for debate for quite a while.
While Bavaria 0.0% is brewed using malt and no alcohol is contained in the brewing process, it is quite similar to Barbican which would make it Halal.
The debate lies in the fact it is associated as a beer, which gives it a slight stigma, and any practicing Muslim does not want to be seen drinking what looks like beer – even if it is 0.0%abv.

You might also like to know.

Leave a Comment